November 3, 2021

Schatz, Murkowski Lead Bipartisan National Native American Heritage Month Resolution

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D-Hawai‘i), chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, and U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), vice chairman of the Committee, introduced a Senate resolution recognizing November 2021 as National Native American Heritage Month.


“Every November we observe Native American Heritage Month to celebrate Native Hawaiian, American Indian, and Alaska Native peoples and their diverse cultures, achievements, and contributions,” said Chairman Schatz. “I am honored to lead this year’s Senate resolution alongside Vice Chairman Murkowski recognizing this important month and remain committed to upholding our trust and treaty responsibilities to Native communities across our nation.”


“As Vice Chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, I’m proud to continue the tradition of introducing an annual Senate Resolution which recognizes November as National Native American Heritage Month with my colleagues, Chairman Brian Schatz and 25 senators. This is an opportunity to celebrate and honor the many contributions of America’s First peoples. All 574 federally recognized Tribes across our nation, including the 229 Tribes in my home state of Alaska, have vibrant, living cultures that continue to contribute to the rich diversity of our country,” said Vice Chairman Murkowski.


Senators Baldwin, Barrasso, Booker, Cantwell, Cortez Masto, Cramer, Heinrich, Hirono, Hoeven, Inhofe, Kaine, King, Lankford, Luján, Lummis, Merkley, Moran, Padilla, Rosen, Shaheen, Sinema, Smith, Sullivan, Tester, and Warren joined the resolution as original cosponsors.