November 8, 2019

Hoeven and Udall Announce Senate Passage of Resolution Honoring National Native American Heritage Month

WASHINGTON – Senators John Hoeven (R-ND), Chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, and Tom Udall (D-NM), Vice Chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, today announced that the Senate passed S. Res. 414, a resolution to recognize National Native American Heritage Month and celebrate the heritage, culture and contributions of Native Americans.


“We are pleased that the Senate has approved our resolution to recognize the culture, history, traditions, and achievements made by Native Americans to our great country,” said Hoeven. “From their distinguished service in the Armed Forces, to their contributions as inventors, artists, entrepreneurs, and scholars, Native Americans continue to play a fundamental role in the growth and success of the United States.”


“I’m proud that the Senate passed our bipartisan resolution recognizing November as Native American Heritage Month. This resolution honors the countless ways Native American have shaped New Mexico and our national identity. It also challenges us to examine how we can better stand with Tribes to meet our trust and treaty obligations,” said Udall. “As vice-chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, I am proud to represent the 23 Tribes from my home state of New Mexico and all Tribes across the country. It is an honor to work with Tribal leaders, Native communities, and people on both sides of the aisle to strengthen Tribal sovereignty, self-determination, and self-governance each day.”


In addition to Hoeven and Udall, 30 additional senators joined as co-sponsors of the resolution: Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), John Barrasso (R-WY), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), James Lankford (R-OK), Martha McSally (R-AZ), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Tina Smith (D-MN), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Jon Tester (D-MT), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Roger Wicker (R-MS), and Ron Wyden (D-OR).