January 29, 2019

Chairman Hoeven: Committee Passes 12 Bills For Indian Country

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven (R-ND), chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, today organized for the 116th Congress and passed 12 pieces of legislation for Indian Country.


“In its first meeting of the 116th Congress today, the Committee approved 12 pieces of legislation that will benefit tribes across the country,” said Hoeven. “These bills are a strong start for the committee’s work this year and help advance the bipartisan agenda of the Indian Affairs Committee in the 116th Congress.”


The 12 bills the Committee passed today are:

S. 46      Klamath Tribe Judgment Fund Repeal Act
S. 50      Columbia River In-Lieu and Treaty Fishing Access Sites Improvement Act
S. 51      Little Shell Tribe of Chippewa Indians Restoration Act of 2019
S. 199    Leech Lake Band Of Ojibwe Reservation Restoration Act
S. 207    A bill to enhance Tribal Road Safety, and for other purposes
S. 209    PROGRESS for Indian Tribes Act
S. 210   Tribal Law and Order Act Reauthorization and Amendments Act of 2019
S. 211   SURVIVE Act
S. 212   Indian Community Economic Enhancement Act

S. 216   Spokane Tribe of Indians of the Spokane Reservation Equitable Compensation Act
S. 224   A bill to provide for the conveyance of certain property to the Tanana Tribal Council located in Tanana, Alaska, and to the Bristol Bay Area Health Corporation located in Dillingham, Alaska, and for other purposes

S. 226   Tribal Labor Sovereignty Act of 2019