November 17, 2020

Chairman Hoeven and Vice Chairman Udall Introduce Resolution to Recognize November as National Native American Heritage Month

WASHINGTON – Senators John Hoeven (R-ND), Chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, and Tom Udall (D-NM), Vice Chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, today introduced a resolution to recognize November as National Native American Heritage Month.


“As Chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, I have the pleasure of again introducing a resolution along with Vice Chairman Udall to recognize the heritage of Native Americans from across our nation and their contributions to our shared culture, history, traditions, and achievements,” said Hoeven. “From their distinguished service in the Armed Forces, to their contributions as teachers, doctors, lawyers, artists, and entrepreneurs, Native Americans continue to play a crucial role in the growth and success of the United States.”


“During Native American Heritage Month, we celebrate the resilience, history and contributions of Native Americans in New Mexico and around the country,” said Udall. “This month is a call to reflect on the ways American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians have shaped our society, and to recommit to upholding our trust and treaty obligations. It has been a distinct honor to serve alongside Chairman Hoeven and advance the Committee’s strong bipartisan tradition as vice chairman. I look forward to continuing to work alongside not only New Mexico’s 23 Tribes, but also Tribal leaders and Native communities from across the country as we fight for their priorities.”


In addition to Hoeven and Udall, the following senators also joined as co-sponsors of the resolution: Jerry Moran (R-KS), John Barrasso (R-WY), James Lankford (R-OK), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), James Inhofe (R-OK), Jon Tester (D-MT), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tina Smith (D-MN), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Angus King, Jr. (I-ME), Charles Schumer (D-NY), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), and Brian Schatz (D-HI).