November 17, 2016

Chairman Barrasso Introduces Resolution to Honor Native American Heritage Month

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY), chairman of the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, introduced a Senate resolution to recognize the month of November as National Native American Heritage Month. The resolution celebrates the heritage, culture, and history of Native Americans and recognizes the many contributions Native Americans have made to our nation.
“Tribal sovereignty, cultures, histories, and traditions are an integral part of our national identity,” said Barrasso. “National Native American Heritage Month celebrates the many contributions Native Americans have made to the United States. I am proud to join with so many other senators in sponsoring this resolution to recognize these many contributions and to affirm the government-to-government relationship the nation shares with tribes.”
Barrasso’s resolution is cosponsored by Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Steve Daines (R-MT), Mike Enzi (R-WY), Al Franken (D-MN), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Dean Heller (R-NV), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), John Hoeven (R-ND), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), James Lankford (R-OK), John McCain (R-AZ), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Patty Murray (D-WA), Harry Reid (D-NV), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), John Thune (R-SD), Jon Tester (D-MT), Tom Udall (D-NM), and Ron Wyden (D-OR).
Read the full resolution here.